Peanut Butter Banana Chia Pudding with blueberries

Peanut Butter Banana Chia Pudding

I’ve been wanting to try making a chia seed pudding since I spotted the pudding word in one of the many chia seed recipes online. I have this huge weakness for anything with the word pudding in it that I have to have it eventually. It’s so bad that when I was in Myanmar, I had to buy every single pastry with the word pudding attached to it. (Pudding + Pastry = Killer Combination)

I was quite surprised to find so many kind of puddings in Myanmar, not to mention bakeries. I guess it might have to do with being next to India. Indian desserts actually consists of this whole different kind of bread pudding that has a caramel topping. Looks crazily sweet but just as good as anything with the word pudding in it. The difference between the bread pudding we know and theirs is that they steam theirs, and the texture seems to be a lot smoother.

Peanut Butter Banana Chia Pudding - bread pudding

Bread Pudding – My Craving! Source: NY Times

Omg, I’m not suppose to talk about bread pudding because then it makes me crave for one. Back to chia seeds.

Anyway, I only managed to try out chia seeds now because I have too much stuff in my pantry that i’m worried I won’t be able to use up, so I was really resisting the idea of buying more ingredients. One day, my aunt bought a packet of chia seeds for me and that was that. Yay! Free chia seeds! These are not the cheapest of ingredients after all. In Singapore, you can find them in the organic section and organic usually equals $$$.

The reason why chia seeds have been so popular (thanks to health trends in the recent years) is obviously the amount of nutrients these little seeds have. They are rich in fibre, Omega-3, protein, vitamins and minerals.

Peanut Butter Banana Chia Pudding - Chia Graphic

Chia Graphic, Source: Dr. Axe

Chia seeds can be eaten raw or after soaking. I would not really recommend eating it raw though, it would probably stick in between your teeth. Otherwise you can ground the chia seeds though I can’t imagine eating that by itself. One usage for ground chia seeds are to make chia “eggs” when substituting eggs in baked goods.

When soaked, they expand multiple times their size, which is what causes the sensation of fillingness. Since chia seeds can hold up to 12 times its weight in water, I guess you could count it as a form of re-hydration. It can work vice versa so if you do not soak it first, it can end up absorbing water from your body causing dehydration. I definitely recommend soaking it. Though I haven’t tried eating just plain chia seeds and water, I don’t really think I want to either. I’ve tried chia seeds with plain milk and well, it’s alright. I was adding peanut butter to it after one spoonful. And that’s why I am recommending this recipe – the Peanut Butter Banana Chia Pudding.

It tastes just like a dessert and which girl can say no to dessert for breakfast? The best thing – it’s healthy too!

 

Recipe: Peanut Butter Banana Chia Pudding

Serves 1 Prep Time: 5 Minutes Cook Time: > 4hours
Peanut Butter Banana Chia Pudding with blueberries

Peanut Butter Banana Chia Pudding (served with blueberries)

Ingredients

Peanut Butter Banana Chia Pudding - ingredients

½ ripe banana
150ml milk
3 tbsp chia seeds (i used black ones)
1 tbsp peanut butter

 

Toppings

Blueberries (optional)
Or Bananas

 

Method

  1. Add the banana, milk and peanut butter into a blender and blend until well mixed.
  2. Spoon the chia seeds into a jar and pour the milk mixture into the jar and stir.
  3. Cover and leave in fridge for 4 hours, preferably overnight.
  4. Stir a bit to break up any balls of chia seeds and top with some fruits.
  5. Serve immediately.

 

Nutrition Facts

Peanut Butter Banana Chia Pudding - Nutrition information

 

Notes

  • The longer you let the chia seeds soak in the liquid, the more gel-like it gets, the more of a pudding texture you will get. If you soak for a shorter period of time, expect to be able to taste the texture of the chia seeds more because they are still harder.
  • Some blogs suggest that Peanut Butter Banana Chia Pudding (chia puddings in general) can be stored for up to 5 days. So you can double or triple the recipe and keep in the fridge for a quick and easy breakfast. However,  I do not recommend keeping it for more than 2 days if you have bananas in it. Bananas generally turn brown after a while, so your chia pudding will turn a pretty gruesome shade of brown.
  • It can actually be quite filling!

 

References

Banana Peanut Butter Chia Seed Pudding – The Suburban Soapbox

Leave a Reply

