Mini Vegan Spelt Pancakes

Mini Vegan Spelt Pancakes

Cooking for one is never as efficient or cost-saving as cooking for a whole family…

But being the only person in the household that loves baked goods is a bigger problem. No one is going to share the calories with you. That’s right, you can make 8-12 whole pancakes and no else is going to eat them except you. Sure, if you really tried you could probably down 3 of them (a feat I seem to not be able to do at least nowadays) and then freeze 5-7 of them for another day. The problem is, I hate freezing cooked food or even storing leftovers in general. If I must, I must. Or I could just find a solution to downsize all my portions.

Mini Vegan Spelt Pancakes

Too many pancakes (though I dream to build a pancake castle this tall one day), Source: Seitan Beats Your Meat

It might seem like some easy math calculations to cut down original recipes. Let me tell you, it’s a lot of brain work. Who ever said baking was a science also forgot to mention there’s also a lot of math involved. See this baking infographic if you don’t believe me! It’s all about ratio and therein lies the problem of some ingredients that just cannot be divided! EGG is the word. What do I do? Eliminate the hell out of it (if there’s such a way of saying, obviously not haha) Because I eliminate eggs, I somehow end up with vegan recipes most if not all the time. And frankly, I don’t mind that at all.

Mini Vegan Spelt Pancakes - baking math

Baking math, Source: Modern Domestic

I guess you could say I have a weird relationship with meat in general. I can like them a lot sometimes (when they are perfectly cooked and seasoned), but I can live without them. On the other hand, vegetables and fruits are something I cannot live without. Maybe something to do with the foodie upbringing I had when I was a lot younger. Living with my grandparents meant eating home cooked food frequently and I remember how good my grandma’s stir fry vegetables were. That’s probably why up till today I still love vegetables so much. Speaking of which, you might want to take a look at this Asian Stir Fry Salad recipe if you love vegetables too.

Back to my mini mini mini mini vegan spelt pancakes. Aside from the fact that I love all things mini and miniature in general, these mini pancakes can be eaten all up in one sitting without going through the pains of over stuffing yourself. Talk about turning something delicious into a nightmare.

Recipe: Mini Vegan Spelt Pancakes

Serves 1 Prep Time: 5 Mins Cook Time: 5 Mins Total Time: 10 Mins
Mini Vegan Spelt Pancakes

Mini Vegan Spelt Pancakes

Ingredients

4 tbsp spelt flour (or whole wheat flour)
½ tsp baking powder
Tiny pinch of salt
½ tbsp sugar
¼ tsp vanilla extract
4 tbsp milk
Oil for cooking

 

Method

Mini Vegan Spelt Pancakes on non-stick pan

Mini Vegan Spelt Pancakes on non-stick pan

  1. Mix the dry ingredients well.
  2. Oil your non-stick pan and heat over medium-high heat.*
  3. Create a well and add the wet ingredients into dry mix
  4. Mix until dry ingredients incorporated but do not over-mix.*

 

Nutritional Info

Mini Vegan Spelt Pancakes nutrition label

 

Notes

  • Once the baking powder interacts with liquid, it is best to quickly start cooking the pancakes. So it’s better to heat your pan first before you mix the wet ingredients in.
  • It is important to not over-mix or your Mini Vegan Spelt Pancakes will become too chewy.

 

References

Leave a Reply

