Takeaway Sweet Potato Hash

Takeaway Sweet Potato Hash

I bought a kilogram of sweet potatoes (the orange variety kind) a while ago and haven’t got around to using them much. 1kg might sound like a very small amount if you have a family of four, you could probably even finish it in one seating. This was the first time I bought the orange variety, before that I only bought Japanese sweet potatoes and I only ever ate them baked plain. Great just on its own really.

Takeaway Sweet Potato Hash - Sweet Potato (orange variety)

Sweet Potato (orange variety), Source: PAR

Takeaway Sweet Potato Hash - Japanese Sweet Potatoes

Japanese Sweet Potatoes, Source: Paleo Leap

My mum likes sweet potatoes but she loves French fries more. In my attempt to ensure she’s getting sufficient nutrients and lesser unhealthy snacks, I explored the idea of sweet potato fries. My first try wasn’t as crispy as I wanted it to be (or she wanted it to be), partly because I didn’t research enough and only realized my mistake too late. The fries were too close to each other in the dish, or at least that’s what some other blogposts are saying. I also found out that sweet potatoes baked are never going to be as crispy as the very type of French fries she liked. So I put that idea aside and started thinking about how I could use those sweet potatoes in a better way (where my success rate would be higher anyway).

A few years ago I was enlightened by my aunt about roast vegetables and man, it was good. A quick Google search on ‘roasted sweet potatoes‘ turns up with some images of sweet potatoes as hash. So I thought, why not? I scanned a few recipes and decided there wasn’t much to it, at least it was very similar to roast vegetables. Except most required frying it over a stove then putting it in the oven. My aim being easy hassle-free meal plans meant those options were out. In the end I didn’t put much thought to it and just did it my way.

Takeaway Sweet Potato Hash

Why not try making a hash?

The below recipe which I titled the “Takeaway Sweet Potato Hash” is so simple and generic you can just substitute it with any kind of vegetables (preferably vegetables that do not cook as quickly) (Takeaway because i used one of those Lock&Lock oven-safe containers then i could just LOCK it up and bring it out with me!). Thinner vegetables like cabbage can be used, however, you might want to put them in at a later stage otherwise they do burn black. Want to serve more? Just double or triple the recipe!

 

Recipe: Takeaway Sweet Potato Hash

Serves 1 Prep Time: 10 Mins Cook Time: 30-40 Mins Total Time: 40-50 Mins
Takeaway Sweet Potato Hash

Takeaway Sweet Potato Hash

Ingredients

250g sweet potatoes (orange variety)
1 small onion
2 cloves garlic
½ – ¼ red chilli (depending how spicy you like it to be)
1 egg
5ml olive oil
Salt and pepper
Rosemary (I used dried ones)

 

Toppings

Dried parsley
Burmese double fried beans (optional)

Takeaway Sweet Potato Hash topped with Burmese double fried beans

Topped with Burmese double fried beans

 

Method

  1. Preheat toaster oven to 200 C
  2. Wash the sweet potatoes
  3. Dry it with a paper towel before peeling the skin off. (Keep the skin on if preferred, usually organic ones are alright)
  4. Dice potatoes into cubes
  5. Slice onions and chilli thinly and mince garlic cloves
  6. Put everything into a casserole or oven safe glass dish
  7. Sprinkle salt, pepper, rosemary and oil. Mix to cover the potatoes with the seasonings.
  8. Place into toaster oven and stir every 10 minutes until potatoes are softened.
  9. At the last 10 minutes, crack an egg on top of your veggies and pop it back into the toaster oven for the last round of cooking.
  10. Ding! It’s hot so be careful! Sprinkle some dried parsley and serve your sweet potato hash immediately.

 

Nutritional Info

Takeaway Sweet Potato Hash nutrition label

Leave a Reply

