rangoon tea house cover

Rangoon Tea House

I visited several regions of Myanmar recently, it’s indeed a beautiful country and I shall talk about my journey in another post. When I was in Yangon, I happened to spot a neat little cafe/restaurant called Rangoon Tea House through google maps (Yup, that is actually how I find attractions or food stuff overseas). It was this visit that coincidentally sparked off a recipe idea on Mint Infused water. It’s located on the second floor of a shophouse that has another cafe/restaurant on the first level.

They have seats near the windows so you can look at the bustling streets below. I didn’t actually try their food because I had lunch just before that. Being named a tea house was a bit misleading for foreigners and you could tell by the number of people arriving just to order tea.

rangoon tea house

Source: Rangoon Tea House

Apparently, local eateries in Myanmar are generally just called tea houses, probably translated directly from the Burmese language.  Nonetheless, the menu looked good and was pretty affordable. They were serving traditional Burmese food with a modern twist to it.

rangoon tea house menu

Source: Rangoon Tea House

Of course, I still managed to try their tea. The good thing about it was that there were proper English descriptions of their food and the different types of tea they had. When I say different types of tea, just like coffee in the western world where we basically have things like cafe latte, cappuccino etc, it’s actually just different proportions of a mix of evaporated milk, condensed milk tea and water. And yes, they all have different names. Obviously we would not be able to know from the names and would not be able to order them in the more traditional tea houses, so this really was a saviour.

rangoon tea house drink menu

Drink Menu

Probably a good guide to bring along if you’re a tea lover who’s heading to Myanmar:

rangoon tea house drink variations

Tea Variations, Source: Rangoon Tea House

Speaking of which, ordering coffee/tea at a local coffeeshop in Singapore can also be quite an art too, check out this infographic. Somehow I think this variation of tea types is not only good for people who like their tea/sugar ratio in different variations, it’s really good for people counting their calories. That way you know which has lesser sugar. Though… when on a holiday, I really try not to think about my calories too much and just walk as much as possible to get my daily exercises.

So, I had a chance to try the Burmese Falooda. I don’t have a picture of the actual one from Rangoon Tea House because I was too excited about it but here’s a picture off the net:

rangoon tea house - burmese falooda

Burmese Falooda, Source: ekplate

It’s a famous Burmese dessert made with rose syrup, basil seeds, (bet there’s some coconut milk in there too) milk, jelly and ice cream. Let’s just say, it’s not something you should be consuming if you want to go on a diet. I’m assuming this dessert has some Indian roots as rose syrup is kind of an Indian thing. There’s also a bit of Thai in there I suppose, if I think about the red ruby dessert. Or maybe Chendol – a Singaporean/Malaysian dessert.

Overall, Rangoon Tea House does seem to be a good place to rest your tired legs after a day wandering around Yangon’s markets and street stalls. In case you’re wondering, they do have wifi too. Been there or intending to visit sometime soon? I would like to hear from you in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

