Orange Dark Chocolate Chip Spelt Loaf Cake featured

Orange Dark Chocolate Chip Spelt Loaf Cake

Originally I wanted to bake a lemon loaf cake and I was about to go out to buy some lemons when I realized I might as well bake an orange cake since I ALWAYS have oranges in my fridge. I didn’t actually used to like oranges, but over a span of one month eating mandarin oranges almost everyday (crazy right?), I just became fond of oranges. I happened to be in Taiwan during the Chinese New Year period, and everywhere that celebrates Chinese New Year means a whole bunch of mandarin oranges coming your way. To cut the story short, an acquaintance had a friend who supposedly grew mandarin oranges so there was a carton of mandarin oranges within my reach for about under a month (because I was eating them so often they were finishing at an alarming rate).

People are probably going to tell me I shouldn’t have eaten so many because they are what we call “heaty” fruits in Singapore (This concept is based on Yin & Yang, “heaty” and “cooling” act as a sort of classification system to describe certain symptoms and characteristics of food that affect our body, more information can be found here). Ok, I think i might have digressed a bit too much.

Orange Dark Chocolate Chip Spelt Loaf Cake - Sunkist Navel 3107

Sunkist Navel 3107 Orange

Right, so having oranges in my house means having all the ingredients I needed for my orange cake! I really only consume Sunkist brand navel oranges, but when I’m using them for juices or as an ingredient, I think any type is fine. Sunkist Navel oranges have the best kind of sweetness to them, just saying. Did you know? There are different code numbers to identify the exact type of oranges? The next time you visit a supermarket, look out for 4012, 4014 or 3107 Sunkist Navel oranges, it will leave you really fussy about picking your oranges though (guilty as charged).

The first time I tried making an orange spelt cake with inspiration from here and here, I won’t say I failed badly but it sure wasn’t pretty. The cake was too moist and I believe I added too much salt. Not wanting to waste food, I ate it anyway, disappointingly. I planned to try the same recipe today with new tweaks, but suddenly I decided I wanted to eat something chocolaty. I was tempted to just bake my mini chocolate cake but then I realized – why don’t I just combine them. Except I didn’t have any chocolate chips. Thankfully, I always have dark chocolate bars in my fridge! I broke them into chip-like sizes and dumped them into my cake batter. Voilà! Dark chocolate chips!!!

Orange Dark Chocolate Chip Spelt Loaf Cake featured

The cake was so good, I couldn’t believe it!

The cake was so good I couldn’t believe it, I knew I had to get this post up ASAP so I could share it with the world. It was moist but not wet, a significant improvement from my failed attempt, and the smell of the chocolate literally filled my whole house making it an almost impossible mission to resist digging into the cake straight out the toaster oven. I hope you give this recipe a shot and let me know how it turns out by commenting below!

 

Recipe: Orange Dark Chocolate Chip Spelt  Loaf Cake

Serves 1 Prep Time: 5 Mins Cook Time: 15 Mins Total Time: 20 Mins
Orange Dark Chocolate Chip Spelt Loaf Cake

Orange Dark Chocolate Chip Spelt Loaf Cake

Ingredients

4 tbsp spelt flour
¼ tsp baking powder
⅛ tsp soda
1/24 (ultra tiny pinch) salt
¼ tsp lime (sub for apple cider)
¼ vanilla extract
2 tsp applesauce
5 tsp freshly squeezed orange juice (half a small orange)
1 tbsp sugar*
Orange zest
Dark chocolate chips

 

Method

  1. Preheat your toaster oven (or oven) at 180 deg celsius
  2. Mix the dry ingredients together
  3. Add in the wet ingredients and mix to incorporate; do not over mix!
  4. Bake for 15 minutes
  5. Let it cool for about 5 – 10 mins before tucking in! (If you can resist. The smell of the chocolate was everywhere, I truly had a hard time resisting )

 

Nutritional Info

Orange Dark Chocolate Chip Spelt Loaf Cake - Nutrition Label

 

Notes

  • I will not recommend using honey as the taste of the honey is pretty strong if you are subbing the whole tbsp of sugar. Substituting with any liquid sweetener will also make the batter too wet.
  • Cut down on the liquid ingredients if you really have to substitute the sugar.
Leave a Reply

